info@gemarts.org · +44 (0)191 440 4124

GemArts

Statement to denounce racism from the North East Culture Sector

Statement to denounce racism from the North East Culture Sector

Thursday 4 June 2020

We stand to denounce racism in all its forms.

We, the undersigned from the cultural sector of the North East, declare that silence is not ok and silence is seen as complicity. Racism has no place in a just and humane society.

Whilst we cannot undo pain and neglect, we are calling on all of us in the arts, cultural, heritage sectors; professional and voluntary to work together to address racism and its deep roots. We must listen, have conversations and most importantly act, we know we need to do better. Everyone is part of the solution - artists, staff, trustees, partners, promoters, audiences and communities.

We want to tackle this together in sharing better understanding and practices. We stand united to bring about change in our thinking and actions as a collective of organisations and individuals.

In the weeks and months to come we will collectively act to build on this statement with concrete steps and actions to demonstrate our commitment to bringing about real change. We ask you to stand with us.

We contacted as many organisations and individuals we could in a short space of time.

If you would like to join us in these future conversations please contact any of the points of contacts listed below:

Alphabetti Theatre
Signee: Ali Pritchard, Artistic/Executive Director
Contact: Ali Pritchard, ali@alphabettitheatre.co.uk

Ampersand Inventions
Signees: Jonpaul Kirvan FRSA / Peter Marchal, Directors
Contact: contact@ampersandinventions.com

Anna Robinson
Sceneographer
Contact: anna.fkrobinson@gmail.com

ARC Stockton
Signee: Annabel Turpin
Contact: Annabel.Turpin@arconline.co.uk

Arts&Heritage
Stephanie Allen, Executive Director
Contact: info@artsandheritage.org.uk

Assembly Rooms Theatre Durham
Signee: Kate Barton
Contact: theatre.manager@durham.ac.uk

balletLORENT
Signee: Liv Lorent
Contact: liv@balletlorent.com

Blowin’ A Hooley Theatre
Contact: hooleytheatre@gmail.com

BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art
Signee: Sarah Munro, Director
Contact: Caroline Murphy, carolinem@balticmill.com

Ben Dickenson
Contact: benji.dickenson@gmail.com
Executive Producer, City of Dreams / Associate Literary Producer Alphabetti

Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Signee: Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Contact: beverleyprevattgoldstein@gmail.com

Brash
Signee: Bethan Kitchen, Artistic Director
Contact: bethan@brash-events.co.uk

Bridge+Tunnel Productions
Signee: Tina Gharavi, Creative Director
Contact: admin@bridgeandtunnelproductions.com

Butcher’s Dog Poetry Magazine
Dr. Jo Clement, Managing Editor

Camisado Club
Signee: Caroline Liversidge, Camisado Club
Contact: info@camisadoclub.co.uk

Centre for Life, Newcastle
Signee: Linda Conlon
Contact: Louise Richardson, louise.richardson@life.org.uk

Cobalt Studios
Contact: hello@cobaltstudios.co.uk

Company of Others
Signee: Nadia Iftkhar, Artistic Director & CEO
Contact: Nadia Iftkhar, nadia@companyofothers.org.uk

Coracle Productions
Signee: Matt Jamie, Artistic Director Contact: Coracletheatre@gmail.com

Curious Arts
Signee: Phil Douglas, Director
Contact: Ellie Puckering, ellie@curiousarts.org.uk

Curious Monkey
Signee: Amy Golding
Contact: amy@curiousmonkeytheatre.com

Creative Seed
Contact: Sandy and Garner Harris, Founding Directors

D6 Culture in Transit
Clymene Christoforou, Director

Dance City
Signee: Phil Douglas
Contact: Phil Douglas, phil.douglas@dancecity.co.uk

Degna Stone
Poet and editor

Disconsortia
Signee: Lisette Auton, Co-founding Member
Contact: disconsortia@gmail.com

Eliot Smith Dance (ESD)
Signee: Eliot Smith, Artistic Director
Contact: eliot@eliotsmithdance.com

Elizabeth Kane
Artist
Contact: Ekvisualartist@outlook.com

Ednie Wilson
Gateshead

Gateway Studio CIO
Signee: Martin Hylton, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: Martin Hylton, martin.hylton@gatewaystudioproject.co.uk

GemArts
Signee: Vikas Kumar MBE, Director
Contact: Vikas Kumar, vikas@gemarts.org

Gobscure
Signee: Sean Burn
Contact: gobscure@posteo.net

Gosforth Civic Theatre
Contact: info@gosforthcivictheatre.co.uk

Harambee Pasadia CIC
Signee: Hannabiell Sanders
Contact: Hannabiell Sanders, harambeepasadia@gmail.com

Kitchen Zoo
Signee: Bob Nicholson
Contact: info.kitchenzoo@gmail.com

Ladies of Midnight Blue
Signee: Yilis Suriel
Contact: Yilis Suriel, yilissuriel@gmail.com

The Letter Room
Signees: Meghan Doyle and Stan Hodgson, Co-Artistic Directors
Contact: info@theletterroomtheatre.co.uk

Little Cog
Signee: Vici Wreford-Sinnott, Artistic Director
Contact: littlecog@rocketmail.com

Live Theatre
Signee: Jim Beirne, Chief Executive
Contact: joe@live.org.uk

Luxi
Signee: Caroline Pearce
Contact: cp@luxicreative.co.uk

Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA)
Signee: Laura Sillars, MIMA Director and Dean of MIMA School of Art & Design
Contact: S.Pearson@tees.ac.uk

Melody Sproates
Artist/Performer

Mortal Fools
Signee: Kiz Crosbie, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: kiz@mortalfools.org.uk

Mslexia
Debbie Taylor, Editorial Director
Contact: debbie@mslexia.co.uk

The NewBridge Project
Signee: Rebecca Huggan, Director
Contact: r.huggan@thenewbridgeproject.com

New Writing North
Claire Malcolm, Chief Executive
Contact: Claire Malcolm, office@newwritingnorth.com

Newcastles of the World
Signee: David Faulkner
Contact: newcastlesoftheworld@gmail.com

Newcastle City Council Arts Team
Signee: Cllr Ged Bell (Cabinet Member for Culture)
Contact: Jim Mawdsley, Arts and Culture Senior Advisor, Jim.Mawdsley@newcastle.gov.uk

Northern Print
Signee: Anna Wilkinson, Director
Contact: anna@northernprint.org.uk

Newcastle Theatre Royal
Signee: Philip Bernays, Chief Executive

Newcastle University
Signee: Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Contact: Julie.sanders@ncl.ac.uk

North East Culture Partnership
Signee: Matthew Jaratt
Contact: matthew.jarratt@neculturepartnership.co.uk

Northern Roots
Signee: Adam Collerton, Director
Contact: adam@northern-roots.org.uk

Northern Stage
Signee: Kate Denby, Executive Director
Contact: Mark Calvert, MCalvert@northernstage.co.uk

OGRE
Contact: Steven Walker, Creative Director

Open Clasp
Signees: Joint Chief Executives Catrina McHugh MBE / Ellie Turner
Contacts: catrina@openclasp.org.uk, ellie@openclasp.org.uk

Orbis
Signees: Jonpaul Kirvan FRSA, Paul Stone, Chris Yeats

Origin Moko Jumbies
Signee: Alan Vaughan
Contact: alanpvaughan@gmail.com

Prometheus Foundation CIC
Contact: Dot Owston

Sage Gateshead
Signee: Abigail Pogson, Director
Contact: Wendy Smith, wendy.smith@sagegateshead.com

Sangini
Signee: Padma Rao

Seven Stories
Signee: John Coburn
Contact: Amanda Beckham, amanda.beckham@sevenstories.org.uk

Side By Side Arts CIC
Signee: Stuart Angus, Director
Contact: stuart@sidebysidearts.org

Skimstone Arts
Signee: Claire Webster-Saaramets, Director
Contact: Claire Webster-Saaramets, claire@skimstone.org.uk

Slugtown
Signees: Max Lee and Matt Antoniak, Co-directors

Summer Streets Festival
Signee: Ross Millard
Contact: hello@summerstreetsfestival.com

Streetwise Young People’s Project
Signee: Mandy Coppin (Taylor)

Sunderland Culture
Signee: Graeme Thompson
Contact: graeme.thompson@sunderland.ac.uk

Sunderland Music Hub
Signee: Lizzie Nixon
Contact: sunderland.music@togetherforchildren.org.uk

Susan Ashley
AHRC Researcher
Contact: susan.ashley@northumbria.ac.uk

Tees Valley Arts
Signee: James Beighton, Executive Director
Contact: james@teesvalleyarts.org.uk

Hullabaloo Theatre
Signees: Miranda Thain, Chief Executive & Artistic Producer
Contact : mirandathain@theatrehullabaloo.org.uk

Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums
Signee: Iain Watson, Director
Contact: Bill Griffiths, bill.griffiths@twmuseums.org.uk

Tyne and Wear Cultural Freelancers
Signee: Leila d’Aronville
Contact: Leila d’Aronville, Leila.daronville@gmail.com

Twisterella Festival
Signees: Andy Carr and Henry Carden
Contact: info@twisterella.co.uk

Unfolding Theatre
Signees: Michael Barrass, Alex Elliott, Garry Lydon, Annie Rigby and Luca Rutherford
Contact: annie@unfoldingtheatre.co.uk

VAMOS!
Signee: Nikolas Barrera
Contact: nikolasbarrera@gmail.com

Voices of Virtue Gospel Choir
Signees: Mathapelo Imarhiagbe, Chinyere Igun, Glen Smiley

Waka Waka Africa North East
Signee: David Faulkner
Contact: wakawakaafricanortheast@sky.com

We Make Culture CIC
Signee: Laura Brewis, Project Director
Contact: laura@wemakeculture.co.uk

Workplace and Workplace Foundation
Signee: Miles Thurlow
Contact: miles@workplacefoundation.art

Yvette Ja Hawkins
Visual Artist
Contact: yvettehawkins@gmail.com

Added 16th June 2020:

The Common Room
Signee: Liz Mayes
Contact: Philippa.King-Williams@thecommonroom.org.uk

 Cumberland Arms
Signee: Jo Hodson
Contact: Jo Hodson, info@thecumberlandarsm.co.uk

DrumDin
Signee: Carol Alevroyianni
Contact: calevroyianni@aol.com

Jack Drum Arts CIC
Signee: Helen Ward, Managing Director
Contact: helen@jackdrum.co.uk

Middlesbrough Council Cultural buildings
Middlesbrough Town Hall, Middlesbrough Theatre, Middlesbrough Museums
Signee: Mieka Smiles, Executive Member for Culture, Middlesbrough Council.
Contact: Mieka_Smiles@middlesbrough.gov.uk

NewcastleGateshead Initiative
Signee: Shelley Johnson
Contact: shelley.johnson@ngi.org.uk

Northern Alchemy Brewery
Signee: Andrew AItchison
Contact: andy@wearenorthernalchemy.com

The Old Coal Yard
Signee: Carl Kennedy
Contact: theoldcoalyardncl@gmail.com

On Board Arts street theatre company
Signee: Nik Alevroyiannis, Artistic Director
Contact: info@onboardarts.com

Paco Rivera, Musician
Contact: pacorivera54@hotmail.com

SALTo Arts Productions
Signee: Richard Broderick
Contact: brodsalto@gmail.com

Added 23rd June 2020

Artist Union England
Signee: Theresa Easton
Contact: theresa@artistsunionengland.org.uk

North East of England African Society
Abdul-Aziz Kouame

Bensham Grove
Signee: Shirley Brown, Chair
Contact: Vikas Kumar, Vice Chair, vikas@gemarts.org

Caroline Afolabi-Deleu
Success4All

Circus Central
Sarah Carrie, Operations Director
Contact: sarah@circuscentral.co.uk

Citizen Songwriters CIC
Signee: Sam Slatcher and Alex Summerson, Directors
Contact: info@citizensongwriters.org

Converge at Northumbria 
Signee: Ally Hunter Byron – Coordinator 
Contact: Ally2.hunter@northumbria.ac.uk 

The Culture Durham Partnership
Signed by Tony Harrington, chair
Contact – tony@intheforge.com

The Cultural Spring
Signee: Emma Horsman
emma.horsman@theculturalspring.org.uk

Dingy Butterflies CIC
Signee: Ben Jones, Founder & Director
Contact: dingybutterflies@gmail.com

East Durham Creates
Signees: Jess Hunt & Malcolm Fallow
Contact: jess.hunt@eastdurhamtrust.org.uk

Explore Lifelong Learning
Signee:  Dorothy Stainsby, Co-chair, Joseph Cowen Lifelong Learning Centre CIO
Contact: weareexplore@gmail.com

Frank Wilson
Event International

Gateshead Council
Signee: Councillor Angela Douglas, Cabinet Member for Culture, Sport and Leisure
Contact: EdnieWilson@Gateshead.Gov.Uk

The Invisible Labs
Signee: Bhavani Esapathi, Founding Director
Contact: bhaesa@gmail.com

Jill Cole
Northern Heartlands CIO

Keep Our NHS Public North East (KONPNE)
Signee: Jude Letham
konpnortheast@gmail.com

Katie Mitchell
Arts and Health Network, North East

Laura Fish
Writer and lecturer at Northumbria University
laura.fish@northumbria.ac.uk

Louise Evan Wong
Individual
louise@evanwong.co.uk

Luca Rutherford
writer + performer
luca.a.rutherford@gmail.com

Megan Brown
Dance Artist
meganjane1401@gmail.com

Music Partnership North Newcastle 
Signee: Georgina Biddle, Senior Specialist Music Service
Contact: georgina.bddle@newcastle.gov.uk 

Network Artists North East 
Signee: Jo Liddle
Contact: admin@networkartists.org.uk

Nick Malayan
Empty Shop CIC

Sue Ward
Researcher
Contact: sue.ward@phonecoop.coop

Pippa Kyle
phillippakyle@live.co.uk

North East Labour History Society
Signee: David Connolly
Contact: davidconnolly124@hotmail.co.uk

Pauline Sonnet
Kusoma African Book Group

Phil Hayden
LGBT and fed North East
Contact: phil.hayden100@btinternet.com

Sanjee Ratnatunga
Ideas for Change Consulting
Contact: sanjrat@yahoo.co.uk

Sensory Spaces, Newcastle
sensoryspaces@hotmail.co.uk

Seventeen Nineteen
Signee: Lily Daniels, Participation and Engagement Officer
Contact: ldaniels@thecct.org.uk

Show Racism the Red Card
Contact name: Justine King, Educational Coordinator
Email: justine@theredcard.org

The Poetry Book Society
Signee: Sophie O’Neill
Contact: Sophie@inpressbooks.co.uk

Sunderland Culture
Signee: Helen Connify
Helen.Connify@sunderland.ac.uk

Tin Arts
Signee: Martin Wilson, Executive Director
Contact: martin@tinarts.co.uk

VARC
Signee: Helen Pailing
Contact: helen@varc.org.uk

Well Newcastle Gateshead
Signee: Mark Mulqueen, Programme Director
Contact: mark@bluestoneconsortium.org.uk

Youth Music
Louise Henry , Grants and Learning Officer
Contact:
louise.henry@youthmusic.org.uk